3 comments on “Khanacademy.com: Khan Can(t)

  1. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the final section 🙂 I deal with such information a lot. I used to be looking for this certain information for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  2. I find myself in almost total agreement with you, especially the comment about learn about as opposed to learn how. Around 10 years ago I led a project that created similar content in my home province of Newfoundland, Canada and my experience with our own content, by the way, has been much the same. These learning objects are useful tools that can certainly make a difference but they are by no means the only tools. In particular, they supplement NOT supplant the role of a teacher.

    • Yes, learning how to do something and apply that skill to the real world takes much more time and practice than any one video can supply. Also, I still believe there is something very necessary about face-to-face education. The learning process requires multiple types of instruction in order to truly make the information stick and having meaning for the student. Online videos definitely supplement and enrich the learning experience, but without human interaction something very important is sacrificed.

What do you think?

